Posted in Articles, Causes

Education Equality. It Matters.

Education always has a special place in my heart. Not only I believe it is essential for all individuals, regardless of their backgrounds, I believe it should always remain as a right for all and not a privilege for the lucky ones. Growing up, I have always listened to my grandmother’s childhood story. I still cry a little everytime I bring up her story, my grandmother is forced to drop out from school at the tender age of 9. Why? First, she is a female. Second, she has to become a rubber tapper, go to a rubber estate every morning to work.

The first reason has made me so mad because I can never imagine a world where female is denied education. There is absolutely no acceptable excuse to deny a girl from going to school and it disgusts me just as much. The second reason has solidified my firm belief that education should forever remain as a right for all and not a privilege. I strongly disagree that only children from well-to-do background deserve education. All children should have the opportunity and access to education because fundamentally, education will help a child to discover his/her true potential. It is truly with education that we can help each and every child to realise their true potential, chase after their goals and realise the dream.

Education inequality is still a pressing issue around the world. Whilst I am happy that in both Kuching and Perth all female students share the same opportunity as male students when it comes to schooling opportunity, I still believe that there are work to be done to close the gap. Many schools, in particular rural area schools and under-represented schools even in metropolitan areas do not have access to certain facilities. For example, many rural areas in both Sarawak and Western Australia still do not have access to fast and reliable internet such as 4G LTE and fibre network. This is just one of the many obstacles that rural areas students and teachers encountered. Thus, I firmly believe there are so many work that still need to be done to push for better education facilities for students across the two states that I hold dearly.

It does not matter where you are in the world, the next time when you have to vote for your government, please consider a party that truly emphasises on education equality. I say this because I know there are still many parts in the world where the education inequality gap still exists. Many children across the world still lack access to education and this is an absolutely unfair and unjust phenomenon. Education is the key to help these children to unlock more doors of opportunities. With more opportunities and better job, we can help them to break away from the poverty cycle that many generations before them might be trapped in. As human, I believe fundamentally we should strive to leave the world a better place than we found it. Education is such a powerful tool that we can utilise to help create a better tomorrow. It is time for us all to step up and work to close this gap. Together, we need and we will strive for education equality for all children around the globe.

Author:

Author, Blogger, Fashionista, Perfumista, PR Prince, Technology Enthusiast & Traveller

2 thoughts on “Education Equality. It Matters.

  1. Wonderful post! I’m from India and I see education inequality around me quite a bit. While there isn’t a discrimination against women (at least in most part of the society, though I have to admit certain societies and religious beliefs discriminate against women quite often), there is definitely the problem of affordability. I’m lucky to have been born in a middle class household where education was given due importance and I was encouraged to study as much as I wanted to. In fact, I’m heading for my PhD very soon. But I see several people who cannot afford education in this country. With each passing day education is becoming more and more difficult and I feel the need to do something about it!

Leave a Reply

