Posted in Articles, Causes

Because It Matters

As an individual and as human being, I believe we should leave the planet at a better place than how we found it. Across the world, I laud everyone with their individual philanthropy and preferred charity organisations. I thought I should give an update to everyone about my philanthropy on my page. I have not been posting much about causes that I support but I want everyone to know that this does not mean my support has ceased. It matters to me because I hope one day my children will not only look up to me as only a father but also an individual that wants to make positive impact to the world that we live in.

On a global scale, I am a supporter for the non-for-profit organisation (RED). (RED) partners with companies to sell merchandise of special edition and profit from the sales of these merchandises will go to the organisation. The profit will be used to fight HIV and AIDS. Medical breakthrough has turned what seemed to be impossible at one point a reality today. HIV-positive mothers have successfully given birth to HIV-negative children by taking prescribed medicine everyday. This is what (RED) is doing, trying to distribute as much medicine as possible to these mothers and hopefully we could produce an AIDS-free generation. The vast majority of victims is from the Africa continent where hygiene level is at a minimum level and government support is not as strong as we hope. I support this cause because I want to be part of the generation that put an end to HIV. In many way, I want these kids to have a better health care and opportunity growing up.

I am also a regular blood and plasma donor at the Australian Red Cross Blood Service. In 2004, my maternal grandmother was diagnosed with cancer and she had been through multiple chemotherapy sessions. Part of the session is the need of blood to help keep her going. She had been battling cancer for 5 years before she finally succumbed to her illness. Throughout the years, my family and I are deeply grateful of many anonymous heroes who selflessly roll up their sleeves and give the gift of life. A gift that has kept my grandmother going and a gift which allowed us to celebrate more birthdays together. Today, as I reflect upon the generosity of these heroes, I decided to overcome of my fear of syringes and sign up to become a regular plasma donor. I decide to donate plasma as Australia is in need of B+ group plasma and I am glad I could give the gift of life to those who need it out there.

I believe whilst there are many causes and philanthropies out there, these two organisations matter to me a lot and I will always continue to support them. If everyone could come in and contribute, I believe we can all make a difference to the world that we live in. We can all put a smile on million faces.

Last but not least, thank you for reading my thoughts. I hope you will support these organisations too or you are inspired to find a charity that you will support. Make the world a better place than we found it, because it really matters.

Leon

Author:

Author, Blogger, Fashionista, Perfumista, PR Prince, Technology Enthusiast & Traveller

Leave a Reply

