Posted in Family, Feelings

Thinking of My Grandma…

This year marked the 6th year my mum is celebrating Mother’s Day without a mum. My maternal grandma left us on 7 January 2009. She had lost the battle to cancer. This Mother’s Day I want to reflect upon my maternal grandma whom has always been close to me and my heart since I was born. From stories that my mum has recounted and from my memories, my grandma is an incredible cook. Every Sunday I love going to her house and she will be cooking something different every week. She made the best jelly in the world, hands down. I still miss her sweet potato soup that quenches the thirst on a scorching hot humid afternoon.

My grandma is a true believer of love. My grandpa and her are the live example of Noah and Allie fromย The Notebook. My grandma went after her true love and despite life had not been easy for them, love conquered all for my grandma. She is such a strong woman and I do admire her boldness and her courage. Back in the days, pre-arranged marriage is so common among the Chinese community. I am so happy for my grandma who was courageous enough to pursue her own happiness and she did. I learn from her too that in life, things may not come easy but if you believe strongly about something, you should trust your heart and chase after them.

In the last few years of her life, my grandma has unfortunately been diagnosed with goitre and cancers. Although she has become weaker and more frail, she is still so strong and she continues to battle her illness. Throughout her treatment, my grandma needed the generosity of anonymous blood donours. These unsung heroes have since become my inspiration to donate blood and plasma. In 2012, I have started to donate my blood and plasma regularly at the Australian Red Cross. I want to give the gift of life to someone out there so the family member can get to spend more time with their loved ones. I lost my grandma but I hope someone out there who needs blood or plasma will receive my donation so they could continue living their life with their family and friends. I know my grandma would be very proud of what I am doing.

Six years has elapsed and I know on Mother’s Day it will be even more difficult for my mum. My mum has always been closed to my grandma. In conjunction with Mother’s Day, I’ll like to wish all marvellous mothers out there a Happy Mother’s Day. I hope your day is filled with love, laughter, smiles and warmth. And to my dearest mum, Happy Mother’s Day and I look forward to celebrate more Mother’s Day in the future together with you. Meanwhile, enjoy your honeymoon with dad this Mother’s Day in Japan! I love you mum! X

Author:

Author, Blogger, Fashionista, Perfumista, PR Prince, Technology Enthusiast & Traveller

Leave a Reply

